Young Researchers Meet 2019

The short introduction being presented by Prof. Prema V. The first talk of the day was delivered by Prof. K Uma Rao, on the topic of ‘Condition Monitoring of Induction Motor’, in which she highlighted the importance and requirement of monitoring of induction motors, different types of maintenance for induction motors. She then moved on to explain the impact of IoT on monitoring and maintenance. She also discussed about the design and fault analysis of PV modules.

This was followed by the second talk of the day, delivered by Dr. Vijay Panday, of Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, on the topic of ‘Analysis of PMU Data: Research work carried out in this field.’ He discussed and suggested possible solutions to the difficulty in conveying data analytics capabilities to describe things in terms of decision making and visual representation of the grid status for taking action.

This was followed by a third talk by Dr. Hariram Satish of ABB Ltd., on the topic of ‘Recent Research Trends in Power Electronics’, in which he gave a brief introduction of ABB and followed it with a detailed overview of the changing trends in the industry regarding power electronics and how our daily electronics is adapting to these changes fast.

Post lunch sessions, the allotment of mentors was carried out for 6 to 8 research scholars forming about 6 groups, who were consulted and mentored by the mentors in their experience and methodology and the mentoring sessions were carried out for these scholars at the Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering of R V College of Engineering.

Young Researchers Meet 2018

YRM is a flagship event from chapter and this year it was held at Christ University on 25th Aug 2018 and around 53 scholars were benefited.

Young Researchers Meet 2017

2017 Young Researcher’s Meet (YRM), 7, October 2017, Manipal University, India.

The Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering of Manipal Institute of Technology, Manipal University, India, organized the “2017 Young Researcher’s meet (YRM)”, an annual event of IEEE Power and Energy Society, Bangalore Chapter. The event was organized by Dr. Vidya H.A, Professor and Head, Dept. of E&EE, Global Academy of Technology, Bangalore also the Joint Treasurer of IEEE PES Bangalore Chapter, Dr. Ciji Pearl Kurian, Professor Dept. of E&E, MIT and Dr. Jayalakshmi N.S, Professor, Dept. of E&E, MIT. This event was conducted as a part of Diamond Jubilee celebrations of MIT, Manipal. The event was inaugurated by the chief guest of the function, Dr. B.H.V Pai, Joint Director MIT. Dr. Savitha G. Kini, HOD department of E&E, Dr. Vidya H.A, Dr. Ramesh, Chairman, Diamond Jubilee Celebrations and Dr. M.M. Pai, Associate Director, Research & Consultancy, MIT graced the inaugural function. 

Forenoon session had several invited talks by experts from prestigious organizations like POSOCO, PRDC, ABB, and reputed academic institutes. Experts spoke about ongoing research as well as proposed research work in the area of Power and Energy Systems. The afternoon session focused on mentoring of young researchers. A mentor worked with a group of researchers in a particular area on ways to tackle various challenges encountered in research. Mentors were devoted to active research in the field of Power and Energy Systems such as Smart Grids, Micro Grids, Power Quality and Reliability, Power System Planning & Operation, Power System Dynamics, FACTS, Renewable Energy Integration, Solid State Lighting and Controls, Energy Management etc. The keynote speech on ‘Research Methodology’ was delivered by Dr. Suresh Jangamshetti, Senior Member IEEE & Fulbright Alumni, Professor, BEC Bagalkot. The experts had addressed future challenges in Power and Energy research; various topics for discussion were PMUs, Emerging Trends in Power System Planning/ Operation with Renewable Energy Sources and Micro Grids as fundamental Building blocks and enablers of natural energy. The mentoring session was chaired by Senior IEEE PES Members from Bangalore and South Canara region. Dr. K.P. Vittal, (NITK), Dr. D.N. Gaonkar (NITK), Dr. Nagesh Prabhu (NMAMIT), Dr. Vidya H.A (Global Academy of Technology), Dr.  Suresh Jangamshetti (BEC), Dr. Ciji Pearl Kurian (MIT), Dr. Jayalakshmi (MIT), Mr. Muthukumar (POSOCO), Mr. Abhilash ET Nair (ABB) and Dr. Chandrashekhar Atla (PRDC) were the participated  mentors. Finally, there was an open house presentation session for the participant mentors and researchers in which Mr Shailesh K.R, research scholar of MIT Manipal highlighted his research. The event was sponsored by IEEE PES Bangalore chapter and Manipal University.