APPEEC 2017 (9th Asia Pacific Power and Energy Engineering Conference 2017)

APPEEC is an annual event organized by IEEE PES in Asia-Pacific region, which provides a premium platform to present research work and share experiences and ideas in the areas of power and energy systems across the globe. This year, the event was held at Hotel Le Meridien, Bangalore, in association with IEEE PES Bangalore Chapter and co-organized by National Institute of Technology, Karnataka (NIT-K).  The event started on November 8th, 2017 with a series of tutorials, followed by two days of talks by eminent speakers, panel discussions, technical paper presentations and poster sessions.  As part of the event, a technical visit was also organized to Kolar HVDC station of Powergrid Corporation of India, Kolar on November 11th.   More than 200 participants took part in the conference including overseas delegates from Australia, Bangladesh, China, Egypt, France, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Sweden, Thailand and USA.

 The event was conducted with technical support from IEEE Bangalore section and financial support from various organizations, with NIT-K taking the lead as the Main Supporter followed by ABB as Platinum supporter, BESCOM, CPRI, POSOCO & PRDC as Silver supporters and KPCL as Tutorial Supporter. Opal-RT also supported the event along with a demo of their system. Ministry of Power, Government of India extended non-financial support.

Awards: OEA, OSA and OCVA

Outstanding Engineer Award (OEA), Outstanding Service Award (OSA) and Outstanding Chapter Volunteer Award (OCVA) are presented to nominated members every year by IEEE PES Bangalore Chapter. This year OSA and OEA awardees were feliciated as part of APPEEC 2017 inauguration. OSA and OEA awardees were Professor Suresh H. Janghamshetti and Professor D. Thukaram respectively.

Felicitations: IEEE Fellows

Newly nominated IEEE Fellows Dr. Padiyar and Mr. S. K. Soonee were felicitated at the inaugural function of APPEEC 2017.